Getting all the FOs out of the Way

Drive by FOs, before all the Olympic knitting!!

A stash buster! This yarn should look familiar. I used it two years ago to make a Swallowtail shawl for my friend Elle. I had enough to make a pair of socks out of each yarn, but I could never find a pattern for either. I loved how this turned out, even if I ran out of the light blue yarn about six inches from the end, Luckily, I had enough to finish, and add tassels to the ends to make it fun. I’ve been wearing this in all the crazy weather we’ve been having lately. The only ‘mod’ I made was striping the two different yarns with one another.

Baktus |Farmhouse Yarns- Fannie’s Fingering Weight & Knit Picks Bare – Superwash Merino/Nylon Fingering Weight

| US 4  [3.5 mm] | 19 Jan – 30 Jan 2010
I was supposed to make my brother in law a cheesecake for his birthday, but due to our current living circumstances, finding a kitchen in which to bake is difficult. His feet were cold, and I offered to make him slippers instead. I cruised the Ravelry pages, and TA DA. I wanted to make these slippers anyways (and I have the pink and black yarn to make a striped pair), so this was the perfect opportunity for a dry run.
I had to run them through 1 1/2 cycles in the washing machine for them to fit my BiL’s feet. He loves them, and they fit perfectly. This pattern is really well written, and I can’t wait to make a pair for myself. I cast on for the largest size, using the green for the cuff, and then knit 12 inches before starting the toe. I’m really glad I did, as I barely had enough to finish the second foot. I think I had maybe 2 yards left over.
Elf Shoes | Patons Wool Classic in Bright Red & Bright Green | US 10.5 [6.5 mm] | 2 Feb – 3 Feb 2010
Another something for the BiL. He asked me for a scarf… oh… about 2 years ago. I finally got around to knitting one for him. This pattern was a good knit for being around people, as there are only two rows that have patterning. I love the knit on i-cord edging, which I’ve never done before. I plan on using it on the edge of a scarf I’m reknitting for Matt. It ended up being 7″ x 70″, and I only did 8″ of ribbing on either end.
Luke’s Toasty Scarf | Caron Simply Soft | US 8 [mm] | 15 Jan – 8 Feb 2010
Something for me!
This hat was infuriating.
Oh, don’t get me wrong, it was easy to knit, fun to knit, and the pattern, once I relearned how to read English, was well written.
The problem was that I knit it as written and it was too small.

I don’t know many grown adults that have 16″ heads. I ripped the hat out, screeched, and then cast on again. And then cast on again, since I forgot to make the 1×1 rib from the Italian cast on to a 2×2. Once that was all figured out, I sat down and finished this in one evening. The only real modification I made to this was to cast on stitches for an extra repeat around, and then knit enough repeats for the man hat.
It fits perfectly now, and I love it.
Koolhaas | Dream in Color Classy | US 5 [3.75] /US 8  [5] | 6 Jan – 11 Feb 2010
3 comments
  1. lacinitting said:

    The slippers are so adorable!! They felted up so nicely!! I think we all need a pair to wear to the christmas party at Natures Yarns next year!! sue

  2. Helene said:

    Cool slippers!

    I’m stalking all the olympic Haruni knitters, and found your blog. As far as I can tell there are 13 of us. Good luck on your project, I’ll be checking back 🙂

  3. He had to give up a cheesecake to get elf shoes and a scarf? In a heartbeat!

Leave a Reply

