Sweater, n.: garment worn by child when its mother is feeling chilly.

My Mom had a birthday this month, and had asked for a tam. Actually, she’s been asking for a tam for quite some time, but I was never able to pin it down to exactly what she wanted.

The conversation went something like this:

“Well,” she said, as I was sitting on the phone with her.  “I want a tam. You know what I’m talking about? Black, with a pom pom on top. And beads!”

“Mama, why?” I replied, shaking my head. “Okay, beads and a pom pom. What size is your head?”

“The only ruler I have is straight.”

“Ok. Is wool all right?”

“Wool!” She exclaimed. “The word just makes me itch!”

The conversation then moved on to other bits, but we have the pertinent bits above.

Off the to the local yarn store, which had plenty of things I liked, but nothing that would work for the mum.

Off to the other local yarn store, where I used Matt’s amazing does this itch too much powers, and found yarn.

Later that evening, we have a birthday gift minus a pom, no beads. I put the pom on later that week [after procuring a pom maker. I have an absurd desire to make one of those pom rugs from my mom’s vintage 1970s knitting book. Matt threatened to burn it if I did.]

She loves it! Thought that I had bought it at first, because, instead of making my typical care card, I sent along the tag for the yarn attached with a safety pin. After explaining that yes, I did knit it myself, Mom was enchanted, and proceeded to tell me that the pom had been sacrificed to the cat. I’ve been told no replacement pom is needed.

Pattern: Moss Stitch Beret |Yarn: Aslan Trends Artesanal |Needles: US 3  & US 7

Happy Birthday, Mama!

2 comments
  1. mel said:

    He! Was the Pom always intended for the cat, I wonder?

    It’s a great hat!!

  2. Bead Sue said:

    I love the story about the pom pom and the CAT! I watched you make that POM POM and to think it is gone is really sad!!!!!! 🙂 Oh My! The tam came out beautiful! sue

Leave a Reply

