50/50

Last night I went to Laura’s to knit with a few ladies from her church. I didn’t get as much knitting as I had planned, but that was because I was helping new knitters and talking and eating some fabulous cookie thing. [I took one for Matt. He loved them, too.] I didn’t have anything on the needles, so I decided to go ahead and start Matt’s birthday socks. We’re going to get really busy starting next month, traveling and weddings and the like, so I wanted to get a head start.

I’m knitting Nancy Bush’s Gentleman’s Fancy Sock. The pattern repeat is so much easier than it looks, and was perfect for chatting and knitting. I’m planning on making them even more fancy by making the tabi toes. Matt loves the pair he received as a gift a few years ago, and requested that his next pair of socks have those toes.

Speaking of fancy, I finished plying the first bobbin of the 50/50 mohair/silk I bought from Colleen last spring. In the effort to spin things up before MD S&W, this 8 oz was the first in the queue.  Spinning is so much safer right now because everything I’ve tried to knit has gone to pot.

I’m spinning it at a heavy lace/light fingering weight with the idea of knitting this into a shawl. The silky sheen and mohair-y fuzz are fantastic. I don’t know what the yardage is, because I’m going to spin the end of the bobbin onto the next on as I put it on the niddy noddy so that I have just one long uninterrupted ball o’ goodness. I haven’t decided if I’m going to leave it natural, or dye it. The plan for this weekend is to spin up and ply another 2 bobbins with the idea of finishing the spinning sometime next week.

2 comments
  1. AlisonH said:

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful. I want to go cast on some of those socks and grab my wheel all at once–thank you for inspiring me! Even if I don’t get either of those done, the enthusiasm flares up and my own projects are more fun again when I see someone else’s that I really like.

  2. Laura said:

    Your spinning is lovely. I am glad Matt likes the Hello Dollies. I’ll make them again.

Leave a Reply

