some selfish, fiddly knitting

Christmas knitting is ALL DONE. I’ll have FO pictures after the recipient gets it. I’m waiting until the morning before we leave to block it, so it’s nice and crisp when she gets it Christmas morning.

But enough of that. How about we move onto me? Yes, that’s better.

I bought the pattern for the Ironwork socks …quite some time ago. Maybe a few months after the last corrections went out.

I tried knitting them; I really, really did.

There were a few problems

I wasn’t quite ready to handle the charts yet, and needed to do some more charted knitting.

The yarn I was using wasn’t great for the pattern, either, as it was a little too varigated for the twisted and traveling stitches to really show.

And, it was too big. I like my socks snug. That yarn was reappropriated for a thank  you gift, and the pattern sat in my file folder, awaiting for the day I would pull it out and look at it again.

Fast forward about six months, and I’m bored out of my mind knitting for Christmas. Nothing against simple knits- they are fast, and I chose them precisely for that reason.

The Ironwork socks were calling my with their siren song. Everything on these socks are charted: the leg, the heel, and the instep. The ‘resting rows’ aren’t just knitted, they have a little bit of pattern work, too. Three different sizes are offered, and oh, the charts.

The charts are so lovely. I have to check the symbol key every few rows because a new something has to be executed. The beginning of the round shifts every once in a while in a clever way.

Perfect. It’s complicated enough that I won’t be bored, but not so complicated that I’ll be pulling my hair out. It’s a nice pattern to make my brain wake up so I can really start working on my dad’s sweater. [More on that later].

I’ve gotten through the first repeat of the leg chart, and am loving it. It’s a little diffucult to photograph, since I’m using red yarn, but the Happy Feet has great stitch defintion. I can’t wait to finish them up.

I finished plying this bobbin of merino/silk that’s been sitting on my wheel for AGES. It’s going to be a something- I haven’t decided what to do with it yet.

And in the spirit of using up more handspun, I present a crocheted rug, to go in the bedroom.

1 comment
  1. Laura said:

    Oh my, You have been busy! Love the color of the merino/silk.

Leave a Reply

