Hello, Autumn, You’re Almost Here

I unintentionally took a summer break from blogging. I’ve been all over the place this summer, Washington State, Colorado, Virginia Beach, and a lot of my time has been set on getting ready for my trip or recovering. Who knew traveling could take so much out of a person? We didn’t travel much when I was a kid; too expensive and the like. I’m trying to make up for it now that I’m older and in my own house hold.

I have been knitting, a little.

I got the STR in Corbie, for my graduation shawl, and I love it. I wish that I had ordered one more skein to make the shawl longer; it’s a little more squat than what I would have wanted, but other than that I’m charmed. Anne Hanson
designs the most delightful shawls. I actually want to make every single one of them. Her directions, and charts, are clear and well explained. She doesn’t have a lot of extraneous information.

Pattern: Anne Hanson’s Cluaranach
Yarn: Socks that Rock Lightweight in Corbie
Needles: US 6
Modifications: None, really, except the number of repeats of each chart.

Photobucket

It’s really difficult for the camera I have to get an accurate photo of the depth of color this yarn has, and I’m not really proficient in PhotoShop. It’s a base of black, with greens and blues. I absolutely love it, and am anxiously awaiting colder weather so I can wear it out of the house. I meant to get this done before I went to Seattle; that totally didn’t happen. I knit a sweater instead, but I actually don’t have any pictures of that, even though it’s hanging right next to me in the hall closet.

Photobucket

Pattern: Jaywalker by Grumperina
Yarn:Lana Grossa Meilenweit 100 Multiringel
Needles: US 1
Modifications: I made the heel flap a little longer, as I have a long, narrow heel, as well as a picot top. I saw this somewhere, I don’t remember where, and just loved it.

I think I may be one of the last people on earth to knit Grumperina’s Jaywalker pattern. I thought this would be a good pattern for the yarn- and it turns out I was correct. I’m actually done with these, but they are in my sock drawer, and I’m too lazy to go get them and put them on. I love this pattern, and I’m sure that I’ll knit it again. It’s something nice to do instead of a plain stockinette sock. There has been more, and more articulate, things said about the Jaywalker, so, we’re moving on.

Photobucket

More socks!

Photobucket

Pattern: Monkey Socks by Cookie A
Yarn: Elann Esprit Print, color 9034
Needles: US 1
Mods: none, except for the number of repeats knitted before starting the heel, which was one.

Photobucket

I love this pattern. I swear, I’m like a lemming, but six months after the fact. These are a birthday gift for a friend, but I’m 99% sure she doesn’t read this blog, so I feel safe posting them. I’ve never worked with this yarn before, and I like it. It makes the socks a little bullet-proof feeling, but I’m hoping that’ll just mean that they’ll last longer. She lived in Florida, so I though that short cotton socks would work much better then knee high wool ones- even if I’d rather be knitting those. They go out in the post tomorrow.

Photobucket

And yet more socks!

I always have a pair on the needles, because I’m working towards wearing only handknit socks in the winter. I don’t really wear socks in the summer- I live in flipflops, my Birkies, or I go barefoot. If I have to wear them in the summer, it’s because I’m hiking or walking for exercise and the little white cotton ones I have will suffice. However, the thought of wearing only handknit socks is delightful, and I have the yarn to get me there. I think Christmas knitting is going to get in the way of that, but we’ll see.

Anywho, these are actually for Matt. He can’t wear wool, as he doesn’t like it [on a side note, he is getting to the point where he can tell the difference between wools, and comments on ones that feel nicer than others. There’s hope yet.] on his skin, but loves socks. Most of the Elann Esprit, and wow, do I have a lot of that, is going towards his feet. This is just a plain sock, with different coloured toes, heels, and ribbing. They make nice Autumn socks.

What’s on the needles now? I’m working on the Gilmore Vest, but my pictures of that are shoddy, so I’ll wait to post them, I’m a little over 1/2 way done with the front, and I’ve already knit the back, so I’m hoping to finish it this week. I need the needles to finish swatching for my dad’s sweater. Have I told y’all about that? It’ll have to wait, I think, until next time, because this catch up post is long enough as is.

I am ecstatic about Autumn coming about. It’s already starting to cool off in the nights here outside of DC, and the day’s sun isn’t as blazing hot. I love the season, the change of colour in the Shenandoah, the fact I can bring out my sweaters and jeans and not be looked at funny.

2 comments
  1. welcome back and some wonderful knitting. I especially love the shawl

  2. AlisonH said:

    Beautiful! I love seeing others doing socks. The needles are just too small for my hands to use without pain, so sockknitting is a spectator sport for me, pretty much. Nice work!

    Say hello to DC for me…

Leave a Reply

