a point, a tangent, and a point

Now that school is over, I have this burning desire to KNIT ALL OF MY STASH.

All at once, even. I’ve not done enough yet. I need to knit more and more of it. I don’t know where this urge is coming from- especially since I was talking to my husband, and he related something he heard from one of the eco friendly podcasts he listens to. Some people know that cows actually make a lot of methane- they have four stomachs and burp a lot. Some propose that cows are going to have to go if we’re to keep the earth from exploding. My repsonse was “well, as long as they leave sheep alone.” He got very quiet, and said, ” It would have to be sheep, too.”

My heart almost stopped. What? Sheep? Poor harmless sheep? No more wool? I have to knit with wool, my poor hands can’t take cotton and other plant based fibers all the time!

It’s ten o’clock at night and in a full panic, I bought 3 skeins of Socks that Rock lightweight in Corbie. Full price even. It’s going to be for my graduation shawl, meaning my gift to myself, Anne Hanson’s Cluaranach. I don’t buy yarn like that; I am a thrifty wait for the sale shopper. I take apart sweaters.

So I’m torn, really, between becoming the type of hoarder that is put on an Oprah special, and continuing to knit through my stash so I can buy a few sweaters’ worth of yarn/fiber.

I know I’m being silly. I don’t want a lot of stuff, yarn included. I want to have enough to knit one large and one small project. I only want enough for 2 spinning projects at a time. Spinning fiber = yarn= stash= something to be knit.

I’m not going on a “yarn diet” [ I don’t really even like the connotation diet is getting anyways. Diet is actually defined as a total of what you consume food wise, not a strict dietary regimine], but I am going to be way more concious about what I am buying and to what purpose. No sock yarn without a pattern [like that’s going to be a problem, I have 9 bajilliony saved on the computer], no laceweight unless there is a SPECIFIC shawl ready to be cast on.

Wow. That was a tangent. I kind of went off base there. To get back to where I was going….

I knit up some of my handspun yesterday during a few episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Photobucket

An Unoriginal Hat. My first Handspun. I used all of it and it’s just That much too small to fit my head properly. I’m going to find someone else who can actually wear these colors. Anyone want a hat?

Photobucket

This is just a simple garter stitch scarf- as Stephanie Pearl-McPhee says “Cast on enough stitches, knit till done.” It’s 4″ by 90″, dyed by me.

The little thing you see sticking out of the corner, which I didn’t notice until I uploaded my pictures, is the first lace weight handspun I’ve done.

Photobucket

The colorway is Carribean, and I got the fiber from Smokey Mountain Fibers. I still need to soak and set the twist on it, but I won’t get to that today. It’s still fairly damp here and I don’t want to leave it outside in case it rains again.

I’ll also want to start another shawl if I do that, and I really don’t need to do that just yet. I’m thinking about taking it with me to Seattle at the end of the June as my knitting project. We’ll see.

Have a beautiful weekend!

3 comments
  1. Lisa said:

    I recently obtained Socks that Rock in Knitters without Borders, then shopped the Little Knits & Webs Sale and hit Uniquities for their annual sale. I’d like to say (hope) that I’m set for the year with yarn.

    Congrats on Grad!

    Lisa

  2. Patti said:

    Take heart.. cow “methane” can be put to good use, so I’m sure can sheep methane… this should get them a reprieve, but you can still knit up your stash and buy more fiber.. that’s what I do, but my efforts are an attempt to shore up the failing US economy… 🙂 It’s the least I can do, don’t you think?

  3. AlisonH said:

    I’m in awe of anybody who spins in laceweight mode, and that is gorgeous yarn.

Leave a Reply

