Third Annual Bloggers (Silent) Poetry Reading

A Sonnet

I take my needles and begin to knit,
All the different colors blend as one.
If they tangle, they can yet be snipp’d.
Knit. Purl. Knit. Purl. This row is almost done.
Which color should follow? If find your skein
To compliment my worsted yarn, my Blue.
Yours is smooth and tangle free, pleasing Green.
The pattern could be one ready to view
[Echoing life]. A cable or a lace
Or something pretty that favors stockinette.
‘Twining strings mirror our loving embrace,
Interwoven with bonds we’re ne’er to forget.
This piece goes on, it never decreases:
So does our love grow, it never ceases.

Me, April 2007*.

For more information about the Bloggers (Silent) Poetry Reading, celebrated each year on February 2, go here.

* I wrote this in my Sonnets class last spring. The parameters were to write a sonnet about anything, using traditional sonnet forms and ideas. I used an extended metaphor – obviously- and actually really like this poem. It’s dedicated to my sweet hubby.

3 comments
  1. melanie said:

    Oh, I do love this! I’m going to add a link to my blog…

  2. Chris said:

    Lovely! Thanks for sharing. đŸ™‚

  3. thank you from another knitter:)
    I really enjoy this annual poetry fest

Leave a Reply

