Happy New Year!

I have two last finished objects for 2007.

My dad’s Knucks are done! I didn’t take a picture of the second one before sending it because I think it’s a little too big. Matt affectionately called it Frankenglove. I hope it fits. If not- I’ll reknit it when I go down to Virginia Beach next.

One of my room mates from college and dear friend Jess always requests socks from me for any gift giving occasion. I’m slowly converting all of my friends and family to the squishy goodness of hand knit socks. Jess also learned how to knit this weekend, and has progresses to carrying needles and yarn with her where ever she goes. Another has been converted.

Jess's Boot Socks

Pattern: My own, I just made it up as I went.
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool Prints in Ocean Blues
Needles: size 5 Denise Interchangeables,
Time to knit: 24 December 2007 – 25 December 2007

She loves them, and they were so much fun to knit.

I did manage to finish all of my Christmas knitting, even if a lot of it was accomplished by making my husband hide in the bathroom.

Fil Blanket

My Lap looked like this for much of the time, trying to get the blanket done. It kept me nice and toasty while I was working on it, and my FiL loved it.

I did get Matt’s scarf knitted but not blocked, that’ll happen Friday on laundry day.

******

2007 was the Year of Adjustment. Being Married, in school, family, traveling, all sorts of things.

I flew for the first time ever! I left the country. I flew BY MYSELF. I knit socks. I sewed garments that fit. I met a lot of new people by not being so shy. [Yeah, I know, me? Shy? It happens.] I learned a little more what it really means to be married.

I don’t set resolutions because I won’t keep them. I don’t last more than 90 seconds- “Won’t eat the chocolate in the freezer. MMM. Chocolate.” But I’d like to make some general goals, just because putting them down makes me a little more accountable.

I’m going to start training for our backpacking trip in Europe. This means better eating, way more walking. Also Planning and Setting a Date for this may be a good idea [right now we’re thinking either next year or three years from now]. I want to be able to enjoy myself when we’re over there, and be able to keep up with my husband, who has a very different view of vacationing than I do.

I’m going to knit 2 sweaters this year: one baby for practice, and a grown up one. They will be successful and lovely. I have a slight fear of sweaters as I rarely get gauge, and my math isn’t as strong as I would like it to be. [ I once added 4 and 7 and got 24. The math was evident on the page.] My slight fear of sweaters is mostly because I’ve never knit one, but doesn’t come from a book like my fear of socks did. * My dad rarely asks me for anything, especially hand knit, and we’re designing an Aran Cable sweater together.

I’m going to continue to buy yarn [and eventually fiber! I had a dream about spinning last night] thoughtfully, and knit through what I have before buying more. I tend to do this anyway, but it can’t hurt to vocalize it.

I’d like to blog more, and become a stronger writer. The more I write, the less I come to see it as an evil necessity. I don’t want to be brilliant- just coherent and stronger. Always room to improve and grow.

I’m going to apply to Grad School.

I’m going to try to be less shy, less fearless, more compassionate, more giving, and more forgiving.

Happy 2008! May it be a year of laugher, joy, and hope!

* This is actually a really ironic story. I’m an avid reader, and have been since I was young. I was new to knitting, and read one of the American Girl books in the Molly series. They were going to knit socks for a school project, and the main character didn’t like to because they were HARD. Turning the heel was difficult and used 5 [!] needles. It influenced me for years. I was terrified of knitting socks because they would be difficult and they were what defined a Knitter to me. I’ve found that turning heels are fiddly at times, but not all that difficult.

Leave a Reply

