Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Like most other parts in the country, it’s snowing here outside of D.C. I fully intend on sending pictures to my family back in Virginia Beach who yearn and long for snow. It’s cold, so we have candles lit in every part of the apartment, and I’ve finished my last assignment for the semester! All I have left are finals, but they are next week, so I’m not going to worry about them. (I’m generally very zen about finals. I’m so hyped up the rest of the semester that I figure if I don’t know it by now, I’m not going to.)

Even with the last bit of the semester to finish, I’m plugging along with my Christmas knitting. It’s actually much smaller than it normally is, even with the extended family put in. I like to hand make my gifts as much as is feasible- I think it shows so much more thought and love than buying something and I can use up stuff I have stashed at home. Yay less consumerism and stuff in my house.

FiL Blanket

I’m knitting my FiL’s lap blanket out of acrylic. Eugh. I hate the way it feels, but if he even looks at wool he gets itchy. He’ll like it, and that’s what really matters. I have two squares done, and a third about 1/2 way done. These three squares are knit diagonally, just so that I could get the size right. I’m going to knit the remaining squares by picking up stitches from the slipped edges and then knitting to size. I figured that out all on my own; it makes me feel pretty smart.

Matt's Scarf

Hehe. This makes me giggle because my husband, who is sick at home today- poor thing, is laying in bed next to me. The internet is being fussy, so I have to use the laptop in bed. I’m not complaining. Anywho, I take this one to school with me. It lived in my bookbag and Matt never goes in there, so it’s a great place to hide it. I knit a couple rows in between classes and I’ve done that much (I think it’s about 3 1/2 repeats). This is a fairly quick knit, and I can’t wait to be done with it so I can move on to more interesting things.

German Stockings

This is the first half of Cookie A’s German Stocking. I have a six inch difference between my calf and ankle, and whoo boy you can see it here! I’m a little worn out on knitting this, just because in the time it’s taken me to knit this much, I could have knit a pair of socks. That, and I’ve misplaced a needle. Grrr. This is also on my list of things to get done during winter break so I’ll be warm in school.

St. Nicholas day is tomorrow, I wonder who will be getting chocolate in their shoes?

Leave a comment