Tuesdays are for yarn

Well, everyday is for yarn.

Today I embarked on my first sock yarn dyeing adventure.

I followed all of the directions from Knitty’s tutorial, which looked something like this:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Wash the yarn. Let it soak.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Choose appropriate Kool Aid mixture.
[ I used 2 packets of Blue Moon Berry, 1 packet each of Pink Lemonade
and Ice Blue Raspberry]
Place in cauldron crockpot.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Dissolve, add yarn and enough water to cover yarn.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Heat and let sit covered until it looks like this.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Rinse, wash, rinse, and hang to dry.

I think it was a success. Unlike this:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket


Spanish Peacock Shawl, from A Gathering of Lace

I had to rip it back for the third time last night. I finally have the chart right and it looks right now. But its what I’m taking to Florida with me next week. I figure between that and the sock, I’ll have plenty to do.

EDIT: I ripped the whole thing out. It didn’t work, again. I did get the book again, so I can try and figure out what I’m doing wrong. ‘Flying by the seat of my pants’ could be why I can’t get it right.

Leave a Reply

