Project Spectrum 2008- My first year

2183717361_7abe87c28c_m

This year, Project Spectrum focuses on the elements.

FEBRUARY / MARCH – FIRE- orange, red, pink

APRIL / MAY – EARTH – green, brown, metallics

JUNE / JULY – AIR – gray, white, yellow

AUGUST / SEPTEMBER – WATER – blue, black, purple

This is my first year participating in Project Spectrum. I enjoy the aesthetic aspect of it, and seeing the ways that people [crafters/creators really] interpret the guidelines.

I always have a pair of socks on the needles, and in honor of project spectrum, I’d cast on Cookie A’s Pomatomus socks [On a side note- how are we supposed to pronounce that? I always say is POE-MA-TOE-MUS. I've heard it said POE-MOT-OMUS. Is either correct?] in Pagewood Farm Hand Dyed Sock Yarn in Really Red. The yarn was from my birthday yarn, and I have been waiting to get through some gift knitting and finishing up projects to cast on with it.

That didn’t last past the ribbing. Ribbing takes me FOREVER. It was really my fault, because I thought I knew better- anyways, it was P1, K1 tbl, not the other way around. [I'm sighing here. One day I'll knit those socks. One day.]

But I did cast on for another sock, and this one is almost to the point where I’ll start the heel.

Red Sock

It’s a simple toe up sock, with cables running up either side. I’m not sure how I’m going to work the rest of the sock past the heel. I’m thinking of starting the back cables coming out of the heel and then crossing the front and back cables using increases and decreases. We’ll see. When I’ll figure it up, I’ll write up the pattern, because I really like this pattern.

I’ve also finally finished Matt’s Love Day Socks. I’m so glad they are FINALLY done.

Love Day Socks

They are big on me, but will fit Matt fine. He’s tried them on a few times just to make sure they fit. I’ve already labeled and wrapped them, and he’ll open them on Love Day. That’s just how we work.

Love Socks

I think these socks count for project spectrum, just because LOOK at the orange. It looks like one colour, but it’s actually three: orange, red-orange, and yellow. I cheated a bit and just carried the colour not in use up the side. It worked really well and you can’t tell from here. Solid plan, and I think I’ll do that again if I make stripey socks for myself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

